1 Comment

Unemployment

I applied for unemployment today.

While I could have applied immediately after my job ended, doing so requires I look for work. I had no interest in doing this when my new position starts September 1. An email to the unemployment office explained an eight-week no-search maximum is allowed, et cetera, on and on. Today is the eighth week, so today I applied.

I call, hoping to explain and receive confirmation. The phone robot asks for my social security number. It thinks. We’re sorry, it says. We are too busy to accept your call. Please try again later.

Times are bad for sure.

One comment on “Unemployment

  1. Check your email!

Leave a Reply

